CECAFA confirms Kagame Cup dates

first_imgAzam FC are the defending champions of the Kagame Cup. (PHOTO/AGENCY)Kagame Cup 2019Kigali, RwandaJuly 7th-July 21stThe Council of Eastern and Central Africa Associations (CECAFA) has confirmed the dates for the 2019 Kagame Cup.The Club cup will take place between 7th and 21st of July in Kigali, Rwanda.Clubs who won their domestic Leagues across the CECAFA region book an automatic ticket to the tournament that is played on an annual basis.Kampala Capital City Authority (KCCA) FC will represent Uganda at this year’s tournament after winning the StarTimes Uganda Premier League at the start of thus month.Last year, Vipers SC represented Uganda and reached the quarter finals of the Kagame Cup where they were eliminated by Kenya’s Gor Mahia.Initially, the tournament was planned to start on 26th of July but after several consultations, it was agreed that it takes place in July.The dates over-lap those of the 32nd AFCON finals in Egypt which will also be in its knock out stages. The AFCON finals will run from 21st June to July 19th.Uganda’s representatives KCCA have triumphed once in the competitions, winning it in 1978 following a 3-2 penalty victory over Tanzania’s Simba.SC Villa are the side from Uganda to have won it most, winning it on three occasions.Police FC are the last club from Uganda to be crowned Kagame club champions when they beat Tanzania’s Moro in 2006.Tanzania’s Azam are the defending champions after beating Simba SC in the final last year.Comments Tags: Azam FccecafaKagame CupKCCA FCSC VillaSimba SCtopvipers sclast_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *